Attention Maryland Farmers: Drought Assistance Information

Are you still feeling the heat of the recent drought?  Well, help may be on the way.


On August 29, 2012 the United States Department of Agriculture designated 13 Maryland Counties as primary natural disaster areas because of the damage and losses caused by drought and excessive heat that has occurred since April 20, 2012.  With that being said, Congressman Andy Harris (MD) has joined his fellow colleagues in support of the request for this disaster assistance to drought-stricken farmers.


The 13 Maryland counties identified as primary natural disaster areas are Anne Arundel, Calvert, Caroline, Cecil, Charles, Dorchester, Kent, Prince George’s, Queen Anne’s, St. Mary’s, Somerset, Talbot and Wicomico.  Benefits may also be available for the counties of Baltimore, Harford, Howard, Montgomery, Worcester, and the Independent City of Baltimore on a case by case basis.  Carroll and Frederick are designated as continuous counties under a separate disaster designation for the state of Pennsylvania.


Farmers in eligible counties have 8 months to apply for emergency loan assistance.  FSA will consider each emergency loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of production losses, security available, and repayment ability.


Thank you to our Congressmen and Senators who support agriculture and farmers, in good times and bad.  For more information about the drought assistance, contact USDA’s Office of Congressional Relations at 202.720.7095 or your local FSA office.  And of course, you can always contact your local Farm Credit office at 888.339.3334.

No comments yet. Leave a Reply!

Leave your reply